Beastly Beauty

As most of you know this past month has been traumatic with my mother-in-law succumbing from cancer. I also ended my position at the university and my family relocated to a different part of Indiana. On the stress test scale, my level is very high. To counter act, I’ve taken up jogging in the morning.

Image

Studies have proven an exercise buddy is the best way to get an adequate routine in place, and I had workout partners in Muncie at noon and in the evenings. However, at my new location I don’t have a workout partner, so I’ve been exercising solo.  I’ve learned the walking trails of my new hood, created a route and have become very dependent on my MP3.

Many mornings the foggy mist is rolling from the ground, filtering into the sun just peaking above the water.

Image

On a few mornings, I’ve passed a man shrouded in gray sweats walking at a quick clip. When the humidity makes the temperature feel like 92 the guy is wearing the same hoodie, turning away from me if we should pass.

Image

Last Thursday I slowed my jog to a walk to scroll through the cool-down Adele songs, searching for fast paced tunes. With my head down, I flipped through looking for the next fast song when athletic shoes marked the concrete. Taken by surprise all of my husband’s (ex-cop) warnings flashed through my mind. I looked up.

Gray hoodie guy was directly in front of me. His face, previously hidden by his deep hood, was sharp and clear in the morning sun. Rows of snarled skin creased his left side. He quickly turned away and like one of my characters I sucked in a deep breath.

Regaining some composure I remembered manners, I said “Hi”, but he continued walking as if I wasn’t there.

I couldn’t help but think if this was a beauty and the beast kind of encounter. Have you ever been in a similar situation?

jj Keller Fantasies with spice and humor. http://www.jj-keller.com

The Valkyrie and the Marine, The Wild Rose Press, July 18 2012

Jewel Heist Diamonds used to be this girl’s best friend.

Dark Sun He’s almost an angel and she’s pure temptation. Cobblestone-Press

Trade Agreement LASR Best Book. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

