Forces of Nature

Destructive Forces

Be careful what you wish for…rain. We were challenged with a quick destructive summer storm.

It’s Saturday and I’m writing from the front-er-back porch today, because I’m looking at devastation created in my garden.

Image

As you can see, the “last forever” fence we had installed a few days before isn’t guaranteed to stay put. Costly and inconvenient.

As my dog and I stood at the patio doors watching the grill, gas tank and all, fly across the patio, twist around in the air and land in a heap, we dreaded what was yet to come. It shouldn’t have been funny, but the expression on my Sheltie’s face as the appliance flew past was humorous. She cocked her head to watch the grill continue its journey to the end of the property.

Cold, pulsating fear arrived when some of the fence panels jetted through the twisting air mass and into the family room window. Shattering glass prompted us to seek shelter in a portion of the house without windows.

We rode out the storm. As I stare at the damage (the wait list for repairs is very long) I can’t believe how lucky we were and how much I sympathize for tornado victims who have lost everything.

Nature can bring beauty, but should not be taken for granted. Respect and fear the forces!

Before I get off my comfy chair and go inside I ask you, what kinds of experiences have you had with the brutal force of nature?

Yours,

jj Keller
Fantasies with spice and humor.
http://www.jj-keller.com

The Valkyrie and the Marine, The Wild Rose Press, July 18, 2012

Jewel Heist Diamonds used to be this girl’s best friend.

Dark Sun He’s almost an angel and she’s pure temptation. Cobblestone-Press

Trade Agreement LASR Best Book.
All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

