Tag, you’re it!

Image

Hi everyone.

This Thursday’s blog is in answer to someone tagging me in a blog. Thanks, Daisy and to Zrinka too. I’m linking back to you both as well.

Image

What are you working on right now?

At the present time I’m perfecting a novel, Conjured Lover.

Here is the premise:

Ericka Gilmore plays with life and death as she tries to resurrect her ghost lover. It isn’t until she meets Joe Reeves that she gets the chance to pursue true love…only to be lost if she resurrects her ghost.  Joe Reeves wants to get rid of his gift of prophecy for fear of seeing people he cares about die. He avoids relationships…until he meets Ericka Gilmore. She ignites a stronger desire to be normal—but he won’t risk seeing her die. A little known mystical Ley Line may be the answer to what they seek, but will they find what they are looking for in each other instead.

The Ley Line, pivotal location in the story, is an actual site. The Native American ceremonial ground has been researched and a visit to the site confirmed it as a perfect location for this story.

How does it differ from other works in its genre?

An attorney who speaks to ghosts and an ex-cop who has the ability to predict (and possibly save) people who are to become spirits. What do you think?

Why do you write what you do?

Paranormal has always been a part of my life. My mother has psychic abilities, and I’ve witnessed my eldest son’s talent. At times of trouble, when my son was diagnosed with cancer and my youngest son had a life-threatening motorbike accident, I experienced paranormal activity. These experiences are the bases for several of my books.

The Watcher (guardian reassuring a female at the brink of change)

Believe (an evil woman uses chemotherapy drugs to alter the DNA of gifted children)

Melody’s Song (a mother loses her son to cancer and deals with the aftermath)

Shadow of the Hawk (conclusion of the above three)

Other titles of interest:

Dark Sun

Dark Shadows

Love Hurts

Jewel Heist

The Tarot Card

Trade Agreement

The Valkyrie and the Marine

CS: Pippa’s Rescue

Future: Memory of Love

How does your writing process work? My writing process varies according to the story and the inspiration. Events in my life influence my story line. Sometimes I need to research the background and more often than not I drag out my journals from trips I’ve taken to different states, Canada and Europe as personal references for settings. As far as characterization I often watch people for facial expressions or body motions to write into my characters.

Once I have the story line, plot, characters and maybe affectations I begin to write. I’m generally a pantster (writing as the thoughts flow rather than creating a detailed outline). However, I do create a GMC chart to keep the pace flowing at a steady rate.

If I encounter a block, I usually go through the previous chapters and layer in scenery, characters and pump the dialogue. This process tends to provide light into what should happen next…and if not a hot toddy and a good night’s sleep always gives me a fresh start.

After the story is finished I like to let it sit on my desk for a while and then I’ll review to get rid of duplicate words and try to fix the grammar ( I love commas!). When I believe I have the story tidied, I’ll print the pages and go over the text again. I tend to edit better with a hard copy.

That is my writing process. Is it similar to yours? How does your writing process evolve?

I’m tagging Zrinka Jelic, a phenomenal new author who is making a powerful impact on the romance world.

Thank you, Daisy for adding me to the blog hop.

 Image

TheValkyrieandtheMarine_w6880_120 (80x120)

PippasRescue_w7614_med

2 thoughts on “Tag, you’re it!

Leave a Reply

