Make a Statement with your Shopping BAG

My friend, Liz, and I are shopping bag addicts. Admitting the problem is  the first step to recovery, right?

Green planet. Grow organic. Repurpose. Recycle. This is my mantra.

Stores began promoting using your own bag or buying one of their bags instead of using a throw-away-plastic bag. Granted most people recycle the plastic bags, but some end up in landfills…forever.

I began buying a variety of the thin, poly, bags, selecting bold colors and clever logos. Regardless of the purpose (market, gift, carryout, etc.) an attractive bag makes a statement.

However, the thin bags didn’t hold up to leakage. Some of my can goods often broke through the fabric. If the carrier wasn’t full, the edges would flop and my carrots ended up touching the trunk pelt. I know what’s been in the boot and did not want my consumables mixing with the germs.

As a result of the failures to perform, I purchased canvas bags. The first spillage I rejoiced in the fact I could wash the bag and reuse it. It shrank. I didn’t use the dryer, but hung the canvas in the laundry room. It’s difficult to fit very many items in my new Barbie-sized bag.

I began looking at the labels for manufacture location, content, and durability. From my hands on research, I’ve found Trader Joes has quality reusable bags, which are beautiful. In addition, Vera Bradley (local to Fort Wayne, IN) had gorgeous containers that hold up to the can goods and fresh produce.

Recent addition:

Bag

Thank you and happy spring.

jj Keller
Fantasies with spice and humor.
http://www.jj-keller.com

Jewel Heist, Kensington Press

The Valkyrie and the Marine, The Wild Rose Press
Pippa’s Rescue and Memory of Love

 

Dark Sun He’s almost an angel and she’s pure temptation.

Trade Agreement LASR Best Book.
All rights reserved.

Facebook:

http://www.facebook.com/pages/JJ-Keller/263353331459?v=wall

https://romancewithjjkeller.wordpress.com

http://jjkeller.blogspot.com

http://twitter.com/jjKellerauthor

 

One thought on “Make a Statement with your Shopping BAG

  1. I have a selection of hessian bags I use and they have stood up to wear well. I have washed them and let them drip dry and they have been OK after. I would love a wicker shopping basket like the one my grandmother used, but she must have bought far less than I do. I don’t think I could fit everything in one basket and I couldn’t carry too. Perhaps my shopping habits are different from hers. I recall my gran shopped daily whereas I tend to visit the shops once or maybe twice a week. Good post, jj, made me think.

    Like

Leave a Reply

