Pets and Fences

February 19, 2015 at 9:30 AM.

I try to walk my dogs every day. They enjoy getting out and taking in the sights and I relish the exercise and fresh air; however, this winter season is the true north of the definition…icy, chilly, the coldest season.

Yesterday, at negative ten we didn’t walk and my Sheltie exhibited HD tendencies. Today, it’s a solid one degree the sun is shining, with a slight breeze, so I smeared face cream on and bundled up.

The girls danced around, even in their harnesses. Hooked up to their extend-a-leashes we set out.

DSCN0461IMG_0010

I stayed on the sidewalks and headed toward my favorite part of the neighborhood beginning at Sandstone. The colorful houses are a throw back to the days when front porches were popular and detailing made the home unique and curb friendly. I believe, in Midwest, this is the only area with the upsurge of new homes having the classic Craftsman style and I love them.

Trotting along, trying to work off calories I gazed into the windows trying to see how people decorated close to million dollars homes. My Sheltie took off, pulling the reins, then our little rescue joined the fray and jerked off my feet I landed on a hard ice-covered snow bank.

Growls, barking, and tugging on the reins continued as I tried to sit up, but I kept slipping on the ice. The leases had clicked out of their hold position and the dogs had a couple feet of freedom and they loved it.

A large Doberman galloped toward my little dogs. In addition to the noise, my defenders footwork would have impressed a boxer-in-the-ring. My pets’ guard techniques didn’t detour the enormous dog as it took up most of the sidewalk. Its tail was not wagging.

I rolled over into the street and jumped up, then started reeling-in my pets, while commanding them to come. They weren’t buying it and continued to snarl, bark and growl.

“Katie!” Finally, the sourpuss faced owner, wearing flannel pajamas, came out and addressed the situation. Her dog dominated the sidewalk, snarling with mammoth teeth.

Katie didn’t respond, instead romped closer to my weak-assed stance in the street.

My dogs flanked me and I limped home. They seemed quite proud of themselves, almost noble, as they walked.

I’m all for letting a dog have freedom. I don’t agree with cages, but when a person lives in a neighborhood where there are children and older adults using the sidewalks, or people riding bikes on the streets, secure your pet.

We live on a lake and as much as I hated to create a fence I wanted my pets to be safe and the neighbors to not have to worry about my dogs going into their yards. Be a good citizen, take care of your pets and have consideration for your neighbors.

As I’m finishing this blog for Saturday, I’m in pain, with a sore back, two aching hips and a grapefruit-sized bruise on my left knee.

While not a fan of electric fences, I sure wish Katie’s lazy owner had installed one or at least put her on a leash so she’d stay in her yard instead of attacking my pets.

photo

http://www.jj-keller.com

Now in POD.. (Jewel Heist and Love Hurts)

Twitter  Facebook   Romance with jj Keller  jj Keller Blogspot

Amazon  Goodreads The Romance Reviews

 MEMORY OF LOVE 

3 thoughts on “Pets and Fences

  1. Poor you. I hope the bruising disappears quickly. I know what you mean about large and aggressive dogs. Our neighbours one time had one and the thing made life miserable. The did have a fence but the dog could look over the top and usually snarled at any passers by. The local young children were frightened of it and to be honest so was I.

    Like

Leave a Reply

